Dhaba India in Tokyo

During my latest visit to Tokyo, I was craving something a little bit different and decided to give Dhaba India South Indian Restaurant a try since it was conveniently located near Tokyo Station.

Almost every Indian restaurant in Okayama seems to be a variation on the same theme, so the idea of trying something different excited me.  The restaurant was really busy and I was offered a seat near the entrance at a counter.

I ended up sitting next to an Indian man from Tamil who said the food at Dhaba tasted like home. I’ve never been to India, but when an Indian man vouches for the authenticity of Tamil food in a restaurant in Tokyo, it doesn’t get better than this.

I ordered the Dhaba Meal at 2200 yen.

The meal came with chicken curry, fish curry, prawn curry, sambar, rassam, poori, all you can eat basmati rice and papad.

The pictures I took don’t do justice to the amazingness of this meal. The light wasn’t good and I was having camera problems, terribly sorry.

The Dhaba meal is served on a banana leaf which is a first for me in Japan. If you are hungry, both the basmati rice and the sambar soups on the left of the plate were all you can eat.

How was the meal?  Honestly, really good and surprising. I had some really good Indian food in Malaysia, but in Japan, this is easily one of the most complex and delicious curry I have ever tried.  Every dishes seem to complement each other and the quality of the ingredients makes it a good deal.

If you happen to be in Tokyo and want to try food from Tamil and Kerala, this is the place to go.

Dhaba India South Indian Restaurant

http://dhabaindia.com/dhaba/index.html

Tokyo, 中央区Yaesu, 2 Chome−7−9, 相模ビル

This entry was posted in Japan, Tokyo and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.