Bee Cheng Hiang please come to Japan

I moved to Japan 8 years ago and since then I have travelled a lot in Asia:  I must admit that I am addicted to Bee Cheng Hiang bakkwa.  Bakkwa is a dried meat with a sweet coating which is similar to beef jerky but much softer and tender.

I first encountered Bee Cheng Hiang in SIngapore and stopped at the shop everyday during my stay.   This is a picture of the Bee Cheng Hiang in Hong Kong which I visited recently.

I always get the sliced pork and sometime the spicy pork.  I asked the nice lady to cut it in squares and tell them not to worry about a nice package and eat it right on the spot.

So far, I have been to Bee Cheng Hiang in Singapore, South Korea, Shanghai, Kuala Lumpur and Hong Kong.  I love the stuff!!!  I sometime buy some to bring back to my hotel room where I will down it with a nice bottle of local beer.

Eating Bee Cheng Hiang is almost a reason to travel in Asia, but I was wondering if there are any plans to open up in Japan?  OK, this is my plee to the good people of Bee Cheng Hiang: please open a shop in Japan.  Don’t forget to open one in Okayama Prefecture where I live.

Dear Bee Cheng Hiang, if you decide to come to Japan, hit me up @lucgougeon

If you have never tried it, don’t miss you chance if you are travelling in Asia. Check their website for locations.

Bee Cheng Hiang

http://www.beechenghiang.com.sg/

 

This entry was posted in B-1 Gourmet, Hong Kong, Japan, Malaysia, Shanghai and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.