Karono Udon in Fukuoka

Udon is not the first thing that comes to mind when I think about Fukuoka, but I was surprised to find out that there is a local version of this popular dish.

Karono Udon is a very old shop which has been open since 1882 and it certainly look that old on the inside. The shop is located near Kushida shrine and the popular Canal City shopping center.

I had udon twice in Fukuoka and the first thing that struck me was the texture of the noodles which are very soft if you compare them to Sanuki udon. While the ramen noodles in the Hakata style are often al dente, the Fukuoka udon are whole different experience.

The noodles at Karono are almost flat and my wife said they are very similar to a type of noodle found in Nagoya.

The soup was dashi based and slightly more complex than the average dashi served with Sanuki udon.  The balance between the soup and the noodles made perfect sense and it seem to be the trademark of the Fukuoka style.

The deep fried burdock at Karono is the star of the show,the thin slivers of burdock are deep fried to perfection and remains crispy in the hot soup.

Fukuoka udon is simply perfect if you need to give your stomach a break.

Karono?Udon

This entry was posted in Fukuoka, Udon and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Karono Udon in Fukuoka

  1. Aaron Sponseller says:

    Hey, just thought I’d say I think it’s great you keep finding these little places around Japan to introduce me to!

Leave a comment